And That’s Why We Love Dear Old Dad

Finding a good gift for the Old Man is never an easy task. While many see fathers as practical and pragmatic, we’re not so sure that another pair of socks is the most meaningful present he’ll ever receive.

So, why is it so hard to buy for good ol’ Pops? We polled around our Sandman Head Office and found that most people had this to say of their Father’s Day shopping pains:

“How do you shop for the man who has everything?”

Rather than taking blind guesses in the dark, we turned to our most trusted source for answers… our loyal social media followers on Twitter and Facebook.

Over the past two weeks we posted two questions onto our social media pages to help us in our pursuit of manly happiness:

1)    What is the best gift you’ve ever given your Dad?

2)    What is the best gift you’ve ever received as a Dad?

And then as a bonus question, and mostly for the LOL’s, we also asked:

3)    What should you absolutely never get for Dad?

We expected great things, and were not disappointed. Here is our award-winning list of answers:

The best thing I ever got for my dad for Fathers Day was I took him with me to Las Vegas 4 days and 3 nights… and we had a blast!!! See I had won the trip… and I for sure knew I wanted to take my dad. I am so glad I did, because looking back we had quite a lot of fun… He was there when I played the slot machines for the first time and won a jackpot of $255.00! We went for a steak dinner after that, and shared tons of laughs and good times!People should enjoy your families while they are still around! Both my parents are still alive, but as you get older you appreciate them more and more!! So I would say this was the best gift I ever got for him, because it allowed us to bond a bit more, and I think it’s important to do things with your parents if you still can!Drew Atchison

Lunch or dinner with him @ Chop! — Lori

The best gift I ever gave my Dad was when I was very young I wrote a few letters to him on his customer bill reciepts from a garage business he had then….he must have thought they were great because after he passed, I found them in his safe box.– Joan Wiggins

Best gift I ever got my Dad were tickets to a John Mellencamp concert :) . — Joelle Harvey, Quesnel BC

This year my Daughter has given her dad a Really Cool Skeleton Clock with heavy silver pens. With his company logo on it. Daddy has a really bad habit of destorying his plastic pens by chewing them when he thinks. — Kendra Vanderzee
 
The best gift is Love and Time, it doesn’t matter what we do together, we just need to be together talking, listening, smiling , laughing and enjoying each others company.  When you are too far away for us to be together, the chat on the phone or even knowing that you are thinking of me is a Gift…everyday.  When one child is lost, that Gift is gone, but the memories have to be held as a Gift even through the pain.  Anything that you think I would like is special to me, especially your Love! –Alan Jenkins

Thanks to all who entered. The answers were fantastic, and some were extremely touching. We chose one winner at random and it was Alan Jenkins!

We hope you have an amazing Father’s Day Alan! To the rest who submitted, keep the posts coming because we’re having huge giveaways all summer long!

Happy Father’s Day everyone!

One response

  1. You made the best election cause Alan Jenkins just leaves us a wonderful reflection about the importance and the role thaT LOVE plays in our lives and more with our family which is the best present ever fon any person. So let’s spend quality of time with the people who really LOVE us :).

Leave a Reply

